close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Zone Alarm issues...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by DeadMansLife, Jan 31, 2006.

  1. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    I just logged into my profile on my home pc and found ZA not working. I cannot uninstall it, reinstall it or anything else.

    Message:

    Validation failed for C:\Windows\system32\vsdata.dll

    Any ideas?
     
  2. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    XP's firewall is turned OFF, correct?!

    Did you try rebooting the PC yet?

    If that didn't help, uninstalling ZA in Safe mode should work.
     

  3. Toyman

    Toyman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    West Michigan
    You can also try:

    Go to Run on the Start menu then type services.msc and start up "Cryptographic Services". As long as this is started, you should not get Validation Errors.
     
  4. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    I checked and tried all that was mention above. Still couldn't find the problem.

    I shut down for the night, powered up today ago and it is working.

    just completed AV, AW, and SW scans and nothing came up.

    Still no idea what happened.
     
  5. hogglock

    hogglock

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sierras
    If its the newest verson of ZA (1.5), it has some issues. Lingalist had quite a bit of chatter about this. Supposedly, updates have taken care of most of the problems. However, I find that its behavior continues to be unpredictable on my machine. I finally gave up, there are other freeware firewall programs out there...poke around and try some. I'm still in that process myself.
     
  6. DragonRider

    DragonRider

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Do you use Avast AntiVirus, I sometimes have an issue when I update Zone Alarm but not Avast, they don't always play well together.

    John
     
  7. Pistol

    Pistol Patriot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I would agree with hogglock on this, too many ZA issues to waste my time on and I got a different product.
     
  8. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    If you use broadband, just get a router capable of stateful packet filtering (NAT or NAPT) and enable that.

    No software needed...but none of them can help you if you still use dialup to log onto the Web.
     
  9. Bronson7

    Bronson7

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murray,Kentucky
    Yep, had the same problem. Gave up on Zone Alarm and now I just use the SP2 Firewall. I wasn't going to give up Avast. That's the most trouble free av app I've ever used.
    Bronson7