Zeiss Rifle Scopes?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by CanyonMan, Jul 25, 2007.

1. CanyonMan

CanyonMan In The Saddle

Guys,

Anyone here use a Zeiss Scope? Particularly, the "Conquest."

I am moving away from Leupold on my 7Mag, only because of the reticle situation, on the 3x9x40mm, does not come with a heavy duplex, that I need for my particular eye sight, 'and needs'. I do not want to jump up to the 50mm just to get the heavy duplex. I don't need it. The Zeiss, 'Conquest', on the other hand, is clear as a bell, and gathers light like crazy, and has a heavy duplex reticle.........But, I have NO experience with Zeiss, and again, the 'Zeiss Conquest' is my ONLY interest here concerning Zeiss.

I want to make sure it is something that does 'NOT' shake loose on the 7mag, and will last a good long while. The rest I have got a grip on, as I have already had the opportunity to look through one. I am just concerned at this point with 'recoil capibility'.

So, If anyone "Knows" something about the 'Zeiss Conquest', and it's recoil capibilities, 'and pro's /con's,' I would be interested in hearing. Please, this is the "only" brand I am needing some feedback on. I am familiar with 'Most all the rest' of the high end scopes.

Appreciate, and feed back. ;)

CanyonMan

2. DJ Niner

DJ Niner Moderator

You must be wanting a matte finish; otherwise, they show a heavy duplex 3-9x40mm (gloss) in the current catalog; it's #56770.

Have you considered having Leupold install the reticle of your choice in your existing scope? If you're happy with your current scope, it would be a lot cheaper than new glass, plus your confidence in your old scope would still be intact.

Give their Customer Service folks a call and see whether they will do it, and how much it would be.

3. CanyonMan

CanyonMan In The Saddle

DJ,

Been there, done that already....

Your correct, in saying that the "Matte finish," is what I am after, and they don't offer the heavy duplex in that.