Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Spongy Member
2,044 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to heavier lifting. As I've progressed, the weights have gone up but now I'm finding that my grip is holding me back. I was trying to do BB shrugs at the end of my back workout yesterday and I couldn't hold onto the weight. At this point, I'm able to do all that I want on my deads b/c I do them early and use an alternate hand grip when my double overhand fails. But I could see this coming to an end shortly.

Anyway, I'm researching wrist straps. I plan to add additional grip work and/or only use the straps when my grip fails. I certainly don't want the straps to be a crutch nor do I want to hinder my grip strength progress. But I also don't want to leave any work on the table simply because my grip fails.

What do you guys think of using straps?

John

·
Registered
2,848 Posts
I think you're thinking correctly. Shrugs and SLDL are the two exercises I could see myself using them on. It's unacceptable to use an opposing grip on those and I could see getting into enough weight so that a hook grip might be a problem also.

It kinda cracks me up that I used to use them for pullups, though. I also remember using them for cable rows and pull-downs many years ago :embarassed:

·
Pitying Fools
2,370 Posts
I've never cared for straps but I will use them only when I must. I think being stubborn throughout the years have paid off since, IMO, I have a strong grip. The other good time I think to use them are on max dead's for one reason. I can do the under/over grip with no problem but it still puts that one bicep under higher strain. I haven't gotten use to the hook grip yet.

·
BIGASS!!!!
2,836 Posts
Cinic,

If you can use chalk, it makes a world of difference.

I used straps on shrugs in the past, but when my deadlift grip started slipping I switched to chalk.

But I know some gyms don't allow a chalk.

And how is the knurling on the bar you are using?