Glock Talk banner
1 - 20 of 149 Posts

· Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been pinching and saving for 4-5 months and can finally afford a Stoeger Cougar. I like this handgun. It's not a bad gun at all and it is on my list of guns to buy at some point.
I do not currently own any handguns and this will be my first. I do, however, own shotguns, "combat" Knives and other edged weapons for home defense. This will be the handgun I take my CCW class with, as soon as I feel proficient with it and money allows, and therefore my primary carry gun for a while. I know it is big, but at 6'2" & 270lb, I am not exactly petite. Also, I work from home, so carry will only be for an hour or 2 once or twice a week.

Here is the question though; Do I buy this one now, and start the saving process over, or continue to save for something I really want, like a CZ75B or GLOCK 17?

What would you do?

Reactions: northstar19

· Registered
1,595 Posts
I would go ahead and buy it, as you don't own a handgun. Once you get that base covered, then you can start saving up for something better, if you don't feel like it fits your needs perfectly. I have my basic needs for firearms met. I save my money and buy fewer guns now, but they are generally nicer. JMO.

· Proud NRA Life Patron Member, Life GSSF member
12,005 Posts
I buy what I desire and when, there are things that are expensive that I would not have and there is also Junk out there that I would not buy. The answers are to have what you desire and when you can afford it.

· ****** Viejo
32,829 Posts
I have been pinching and saving for 4-5 months and can finally afford a Stoeger Cougar. I like this handgun. It's not a bad gun at all and it is on my list of guns to buy at some point.