close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Would you go back?

Discussion in 'Veteran's Forum' started by 25074, Feb 10, 2006.

1. 25074

25074 "Traveling man"

I am currently reading a book, called Up Country, by Nelson Demille.

In this book the main character goes back to Vietnam to investigate a 30 year old murder of an ARMY Lt.

He is going back to Vietnam as a civilian 30 years after he was there.

I am a Gulf War Vet (2003) and I have wondered if I could bring myself to go back one day as a civilian.

What do my fellow Vets think about going back to an area that you served in combat?

Not trying to sound stupid. I saw some bad things and just wondered how everyone else feels about it.

Thanks

2. AirAssault

AirAssault Übermensch

i was over in Iraq/Saudi back in 90-91 and have thought about going back over the years.

3. RussP

RussP Super Moderator Moderator

The jungle has pretty much taken back my base at NKP Thailand according to those who have gone back. I don't have that much desire to return.

Our area of operations was Laos and southern North Vietnam. Would I like to fly over some of that area again? Probably would. Visit on the ground...no.

:cool:

4. Jafo2001

Jafo2001

As someone who loves the outdoors and deserts in particular, I would. I actually found myself during the first Gulf War planning out camping trips for some point in the future.

That being said, they are going to have to do a lot of improving in their attitudes and policies before they will get any of my tourism dollars...

5. jerryd

jerryd

Would love to go back and see what the place looks like now! Maybe check out some of my old bars and see if any of the no. 1 cherry girls are still there, drink some Saigon Tea, and relax on the beach! I always said it was a beautiful country if you could keep the locals from pooping on the beach, just like walking thru a mine field!;z

6. 25074

25074 "Traveling man"