Worried about my money becoming WORTHLESS due to fed!

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by u4ea, Oct 20, 2010.

1. u4ea

u4ea

I work extremely hard. I have a young daughter and a family that depends on me. I make 75% of the income in my 3 person family. Enough of the sob story, though. I have been saving and saving for 3 years now. I am worried that the economy will completely crumble, and my money won't be worth the paper it is printed on. What should I do? I know a guy who has 100k in CASH in his home safe, and he is looking furiously for ways to "save" his investment after the dollar crumbles. I don't have even close to 100k, but I wouldn't want to lose what I have worked my ass off to afford. I wish the fed would stop printing money out of thin air. It almost makes me wonder what I am working for. I missed the gold boat, so I don't know what to do to ensure the stability of my family, and to not be sitting on money that is not worth crap. Thoughts?

2. voyager4520

voyager4520

It'll lose value over time, but if it crumbles in such a short time so will the rest of industrialized society and the only things of value will be food, water, medical supplies, and the weapons to defend yourself and your supplies.

Not much you can do really. You'd lose probably the same amount of money by investing in material goods like physical precious metals or guns. Only things you can really do are hope and vote.

Land might be the only thing that really maintains value, until a bunch of developments crop up around it and the local water rights get sold halfway across the country or even the continent.

Last edited: Oct 20, 2010

3. u4ea

u4ea

Isn't it the opposite? If the dollar crumbles and is replaced by something else, won't diamonds and gold always have a value, no matter the currency in use?

4. cowboy1964

cowboy1964