Woman ordered to pay $8.4 million in damages for fake rape allegation

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Bren, Sep 20, 2018.

1. Bren

Bren NRA Life Member

This is pretty interesting and kind of timely. Woman made fake rape claims 30 years after they allegedly happened, in the 80's.

About time somebody did something about it. As a police officer I saw multiple fake rape claims, some for as little as to avoid an arrest for public intoxication. In one case, we arrested a guy, after his brother had beaten him up for raping his wife. No doubt he'd have gone to prison, if the wife hadn't written it all down in her diary, that her sister stole and brought to us after the guy had been in jail a couple of weeks - turns out she was having an affair with him (as was her sister) and he dumped her and she wanted to get back at him. As a lawyer, I have mentioned that all of the "innocence project" cases I have seen get people out of prison involved lying witnesses, but I believe they also have in common that they were all or nearly all rape cases.

Female blogger is ordered to pay US Army colonel she accused of rape $8.4million in damages after he claimed the false allegations cost him a sparkling military career
    . . .

Susan Shannon, 52, who now lives in Everett, Washington, first alleged that she was sexually assaulted by Army Colonel David 'Wil' Riggins in 1986, while they were both cadets, on her blog in 2013.

She said she waited three decades to come forward about her experience because of the army's 'code of silence'.
    . . .

She made the claims on her blog Short Little Rebel in 2013 - which followed the announcement that Colonel Riggins had been nominated for general.
    . . . .

Sounds kind of familiar.

2. sciolist

sciolist On the Border

Hold that thought...

3. Lazy R

Lazy R

4. kiole

kiole

Now hopefully she hits the lottery so he gets paid

5. NAZG26

NAZG26 Lost in transit

6. ddbtoth

ddbtoth