close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

WMV files.

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Falcon501, May 4, 2005.

  1. Falcon501

    Falcon501 Fâlcón

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    How would I change a .WMV file (video) to a file that Quicktime will understand? My WMP isn't working. Thanks.
     
  2. Dandapani

    Dandapani

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,215
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    You need some kind of video editting software such as Adobe Premier.
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    http://videolan.org/vlc/ First, in the output settings sheet, make sure Encapsulation Method is "MPEG 1". 1. Open the movie in VLC.
    2. Check to see if it plays right. If it doesn't, you're out of luck.
    3. If it does, close it. Really.
    4. Choose "Open File" from the file menu.
    5. In the dialog box that pops up, click "Browse..." and find the file you want.
    6. Check "Advanced output..." and click "Settings...".
    7. In the insanely complicated sheet that popped up and scared you (don't panic), make sure the "File" radio button is selected. Click "Browse..." and save it wherever you want the final product to go. Make sure the extension (part after the dot) is "mpg", not "ts".
    8. Make sure the "Video" and "Audio" boxes are checked and that the menus next to them are set to "mp1v" and "mpga", respectively.
    9. Click OK, and OK again (to close the sheet and open the file).
    10. Play the movie. All the way through.
    11. Congrats! You should have a Quicktime-able video now!
     
  4. Falcon501

    Falcon501 Fâlcón

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    Thank you ;f
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  6. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    If your are using a Mac that won't work.
     
  7. Falcon501

    Falcon501 Fâlcón

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    I am using Wimdows XP and I'm downloading that file right now. I'll let you know how it works. Thanks!
     
  8. Falcon501

    Falcon501 Fâlcón

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    Great..It worked. Thanks a lot!!! ;f
     
  9. Jtemple

    Jtemple Geek

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE
    Have you tried removing Media Player and then re-installing it? You might be better off getting Media Player running again.
     
  10. Falcon501

    Falcon501 Fâlcón

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    How would I do that? Go to add/remove programs? If thats it, I've tried it with no luck. ;Q
     
  11. Jtemple

    Jtemple Geek

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE
    Add/Remove programs, also go to Add/Remove Windows Components and make sure you remove them both. The, download a new version of Media Player and install it.
     
  12. Falcon501

    Falcon501 Fâlcón

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    Where is the add/remove windows components?
     
  13. Jtemple

    Jtemple Geek

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE
    In Windows XP/2000:
    Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> Look for the big Add/Remove Windows Components button on the left.

    In Windows 98:
    Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> Windows Setup Tab.

    You may be prompted for your Windows 98 CD when you remove anything.
     
  14. Falcon501

    Falcon501 Fâlcón

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    Didn't work. It said the setup couldn't be completed. Oh well, I guess I'll stick with WinAmp. Thanks anyways though :)