close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Wireless signal meter

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by bocephus549, Jul 11, 2007.

  1. bocephus549

    bocephus549 Bo Knows.......

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,295
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I used to have a wireless signal strength meter located in my taskbar that loaded automatically upon startup. It had a bar type display with red yellow and green colors. How can I restore this function?
     
  2. havensal

    havensal Nozzle Jockey CLM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,939
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western, NY
    That sounds to me like your tray icon for your Linksys (or possibly some other) wireless software. You didn't change wireless adapters or anything like that did you? :)
     

  3. bocephus549

    bocephus549 Bo Knows.......

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,295
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I still have all the same hardware.

    I was on the phone with Dell the other night on an unrelated issue and he cleaned up some un-needed junk that was running in the background. Maybe he got rid of the meter then.

    I want it back.
     
  4. Furant

    Furant Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    See if you have the file "C:\WINNT\system32\WLTRAY.EXE".

    That's the Dell software that shows the Wireless meter on my system. The registry key for it is:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "Dell Wireless Manager UI"="C:\\WINNT\\system32\\WLTRAY"

    Joey
     
  5. bocephus549

    bocephus549 Bo Knows.......

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,295
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Tennessee
    If I do find C:\WINNT\system32\WLTRAY.EXE what do I do to restore it?
     
  6. Furant

    Furant Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    First, launch it. Make sure that it shows the meter in the task tray. If that works, you just need to set it to autostart. Look around in the utility to that option or add the registry key that I posted above.

    Joey