close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Wireless printing help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by .264 magnum, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    13,219
    Likes Received:
    893
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    I have an HP 6500 at home for printing duties. The wireless feature craps out all the time. Like when my daughter connected via USB yesterday - now the wireless needs to be "reset" by partially re-installing the software on my main laptop. The house contains 5 laptops and one Mac.

    I'm more than willing to go buy something better.

    What are your thoughts?
     
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,676
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Location:
    Indiana
    If you're happy with the printer, it's USB, AND you have a free spot on your router..

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=206&name=Print-Servers&

    However, looking at the specs for your printer, it shows it has an ethernet port, which means you should be able to plug it directly into the router... That *should* allow any PC/Laptop on the network, to print to it.

    If it doesn't, one of those in the Link should handle your problem.
     

  3. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    13,219
    Likes Received:
    893
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Working on this now. Thank you!
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,676
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Location:
    Indiana
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  5. Linux3

    Linux3

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did we survive before printers had ethernet ports?

    When I think of all the hours I spent getting print servers / system print buffers to work.
     
  6. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    18
    If i is setup as wireless plugging it in USB will screw it up every time, you either have it configured for network access or USB, not both.
     
  7. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,676
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Location:
    Indiana
    That's actually a good point, if it's USB connected to the desktop, that would possibly explain the problem.

    Still think the easiest way is to hook it up to the router... Should be fairly easy I would imagine.

    IGF