close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

wireless network card for laptop????

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by blackopsglock, Dec 28, 2004.

  1. blackopsglock

    blackopsglock smckma

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    I have a old and ancient CTX 700 series EX book.I recently upgraded the memory to 64 ram and its running smoothly with dial up on a 56k modem.

    I realize that wireless networks are slow.I basically just need this to check my email when I am out of town on Yahoo.I certainly won't be standing in a coffee shop surfing GT.

    My question is this.I would like to hook up a wireless device to this so I can get INTERNET access in coffee shops and at hotels that offer this.I am kind of dumb about things so what kind of device do I need?
     
  2. threeputtwash

    threeputtwash

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Location:
    M Manila
    Wireless networks are actually faster than a dial-up modem (in terms of throughput speed).

    Assuming that your laptop has a PCMCIA slot, you just need to get a Wireless-G PCMCIA card.
    Check to make sure that your laptop satisfies the minimum hardware requirements though.

    P.S. I would suggest a Wireless-G USB adapter, the implied age of you laptop seems like you don't have USB?
     

  3. blackopsglock

    blackopsglock smckma

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    right no USB.

    It has a place for a modem.Actually it has a place for two modems.It that where the card you speak of goes?

    There is two modems that came with it.One I am assuming does not work any longer because when I hook a phone line into it,,,it does not work.
     
  4. potatoho

    potatoho

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Location:
    Port Orange, FL
    Agree with threeputtwash, in that you must make sure your old machine can handle a new card. Lots of PCMCIA cards are 32-bit cardbus now and if you have anything made before a few years ago, it likely won't work with the latest generation of wireless PCMCIA cards.

    For new laptops, having built-in 802.11g is sooo great! Even have a switchamajig on the side to turn the antenna power on/off.
     
  5. blackopsglock

    blackopsglock smckma

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Thanks,

    Now explain to me what a PCMCIA cards are 32-bit cardbus are?

    How can I tell what my machine has?
     
  6. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
  7. blackopsglock

    blackopsglock smckma

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Linky dont work.:soap:
     
  8. Fireglock

    Fireglock Which is worse?

    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Location:
    Pinellas County, FL
  9. potatoho

    potatoho

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Location:
    Port Orange, FL
    PCMCIA used to be simple. You'd buy a card, any card, and plug it in. Yeah there was type II and type III, but that was okay. Then there was 3.3V and 5V. And now some marketing genius decided to make 32-bit and 16-bit PCMCIA. The 32-bit PCMCIA is called cardbus.

    All I know, is that a couple of years ago I picked up a "PCMCIA" card for my thinkpad. Got it home and it wouldn't fit in the damn slot. Unbelievable!