close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Wireless Internet Question PLZ HELP!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ArmaGlock, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. ArmaGlock

    ArmaGlock Glock Armorer

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    I have a problem, I am about to move to an area that has nothing but dial up internet at and I can't deal with that. I plan on getting wireless internet through either Nextel, Verizon, or Cingular, however the only wireless modems they seem to have are the air cards for laptops and I want to use it on my desktop PC. My question is, are there adapters for this or wireless modems made for desktop computers? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. kAr

    kAr Netware Rocks!

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Location:
    Mesa AZ
    You can get pcmcia adapters, either usb or ones that fit in an expansion slot of your computer.
     

  3. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Unless cell providers have changed, that is going to get really expensive if you use the internet alot. You should see if you can get satelite internet service. Not the greatest speeds but neither is using your cell phone internet service.
     
  4. ArmaGlock

    ArmaGlock Glock Armorer

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    Yeah I looked into Satelite internet, it's at least 100 bucs a month with a huge deposit.
     
  5. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Most WTelCo's use a USB adapter that plugs into your cell phone on one end and your PC (laptop or desktop) on the other.

    I have several clients that use this solution and it appears to work pretty well.

    I have to wonder, though, if you couldn't get a second phone and 'shotgun' the connections in a Poor-Man's Broadband sort of thing? ;b

    It should work, if the ISP you go with is cool with it, since the cells will have different numbers...
     
  6. Jwickersham

    Jwickersham

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Location:
    Middletown, Oh
    I use the verizon pc5740(pcmcia) and it works pretty good in areas with a solid signal but in areas with only 1-2 bars it drops out frequently requiring reconnections. Also has unlimited usage for about $60/month.
     
  7. ArmaGlock

    ArmaGlock Glock Armorer

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    Well I just got good news, DSL is available in that area now (at least where I'm going to be) some people still don't have it. Thanks for the input guys.