close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Windows XP reinstall?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by WolfmanGK, Dec 7, 2004.

  1. WolfmanGK

    WolfmanGK Super Plump

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Dakota
    I have had XP on this laptop since it first came out. It has been great and I have never had to reinstall it, like with windows 98, every month. Anyway, I have so much garbage that I have installed and forgotten about, it takes several minutes for it to boot up, and is showing its age (It is a PIII 800 MHz W/ 512). I want to wipe everything out and reinstall XP fresh. However there is one problem- my XP disc and it's case were both lost in the move. I DO own the disc, but as far as trying to find the serial for it, or even the disc, that isn't going to happen! Could I use my mum's XP disc, since my XP has already been "Authorized"? Will it still ask for the serial, or whathaveyou? I really don't want to spend $90 again for the upgrade.
     
  2. bluewater

    bluewater CLM

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    You need to call Microsoft and present your case to them. They can help you, and good luck.

    ;?
     

  3. TooShyGuy

    TooShyGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't reinstall without the original serial number. Call Microsoft. They may be able to help.
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I've done reinstalls of XP but with the original CD.It never asked for the product key.A reinstall doesn't wipe out everything.I still had the same user name and password.I'm not sure what would happen with a different CD.I have one PC with a 733 Pent III and 256mb of ram.It does fine with XP.
     
  5. cnemikeman

    cnemikeman

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    If you have the legit copy, and just need your serial.......grab a download of Belarc Advisor. It's free, and will give you what you need. I don't have the URL, but google it and you'll be set.

    MiKemaN
     
  6. JMag

    JMag

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    9,028
    Likes Received:
    3,849
    Location:
    USA:Love it or leave!
    Great tool that I've used for awhile. Here 'tis:

    http://belarc.com/free_download.html
     
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    How does the serial number help if you don't have the original CD?Does it make any difference?
     
  8. TooShyGuy

    TooShyGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. The cd's are all the same and don't have any serial number in them.
     
  9. 0100010

    0100010 Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    Like others have said, use a utility to pull your current product ID out of the installed OS, and then borrow an XP CD. The license from Microsoft is not for the CD, its for the product ID. You previously activated your license of XP with Microsoft, and reinstalling and re-activating the same license on the same PC will not be a problem.

    The only issues you need to worry about are :

    1 - Its possible you have an OEM load of XP on your laptop, if thats true, when you pull the current product ID it may not work to install a new copy of XP. Check the bottom of the laptop, you may have a product ID sticker there you can use. OEMs use a generic product ID to create the "load" for their PCs, and give a sticker (or form) to the consumer that has a valid product ID they can use to reinstall with if/when needed.

    2 - There are basically 3 types of XP CDs out there, OEM, retail and volume license key. Along with these 3 types of discs, there are 3 types of product IDs. You have to use the right kind of CD with its matching product ID. OEM and retail product keys will want to activate with Microsoft after installing. So, each CD is not coded to a specific product ID, but they are coded to only accept an ID of the right type.
     
  10. 0100010

    0100010 Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
  11. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Except for one little detail:

    You have to get the same TYPE of CD to install with if the Product Key you have is to work.

    An XP Home keycode will not install an XP Pro OS.

    XP Pro SP1 keycodes will not work on an XP Pro w/o SP1.

    I can infer from this that a copy of XP Pro SP2 will not run under a XP Pro SP1 keycode.

    And Corporate keys are incompatible with either Pro OR Home.

    What they did is used one particular letter ONLY in the product code for each type of OS. That way it is instantly rejected if you try to activate with an older/different keycode for a different version, and M$ makes even more $$$.

    So unless your mom's disk is the same type you had, get ready to call 1-800-MSS-UCKS soon.

    Have You Enriched Your Favorite Monopolists Today?!

    Good luck,

    FastVFR

    PS. At least back up your System32\wpa.dbl folder so you needn't reactivate the frigging thing.
     
  12. TooShyGuy

    TooShyGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0

    It's not Microsoft's fault he lost his disk and code.
     
  13. JMag

    JMag

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    9,028
    Likes Received:
    3,849
    Location:
    USA:Love it or leave!
    No, just their fault it's such a painful, complicated task...
     
  14. WolfmanGK

    WolfmanGK Super Plump

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Dakota

    If you boot from the CD it lets you "Reapir", or "Replace" windows. This computer has a 20 gig hd that has filled up several times, due to all the crap I put on it. The amount of programs I have installed on here is probably 3 digits.


    My Belarc Advisor info page is 5 pages long, if that gives you an idea. That's all the crap that has been accumulating on this little laptop.
     
  15. WolfmanGK

    WolfmanGK Super Plump

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Dakota
    You are right, however it is Microsoft's cumbersome regitsration system that hinders the whole thing. There are cracks for XP out there, but I bought it for $99, so I want to take the legal route. I could just as easily use my mums cd and just run a cracked version.
     
  16. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I meant I reinstalled AFTER reformatting the hard drive and it still retained that information.The disk was clean.It's wasn't full of all the old files.
     
  17. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    If you have successfully activated the OS already, and if you are reinstalling it on the existing hardware, this trick should do just fine. Here it is:

    1. Copy the file c:\windows\system32\wpa.dbl to a floppy.
    2. Reinstall Windows XP.
    3. Boot to a DOS disk if you are using FAT, or to the Recovery Console if using NTFS.
    4. Copy the file from the first step above back to c:\windows\system32.
    5. That's it - because all of your hardware is the same as before, your copy of WinXP is still valid according to the previous activation.