Windows Clients on Linux File Servers

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by berniew, Mar 15, 2005.

  1. berniew

    berniew Liberty

    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Location:
    MN
    All,

    Just looking at some help to point me in the right direction. I am fairly decent on Windows, but basically a newbie on Linux. Someone I know is running Windows clients which connect to a Linux file server. He claims they are having an issue with files being deleted on the server because of the Windows client machines. Something to do with 'checkpoints' and 'profiling'.

    Any thoughts? Comments?

    - Bernie
     
  2. bohr

    bohr rm -rf /

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    FL
    What distro is the server? Maybe there is a cronjob running that flushes certain directories or file types.
     

  3. berniew

    berniew Liberty

    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Location:
    MN
    Pretty sure it is Fedora
     
  4. bohr

    bohr rm -rf /

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    FL
    How do the clients connect to the server? Samba? Ftp? Need more info on the configuration. Interesting that they would be deleting files. Are the files being deleted then replaced or are the files simply being deleted without being replaced? Strange ;b
     
  5. berniew

    berniew Liberty

    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Location:
    MN
    Samba

     
  6. bohr

    bohr rm -rf /

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    FL
    How did they disable the roaming profiles in samba? To disable roaming profiles add the following line to smb.conf under the profile folder:

    logon path = ""

    They can also try upgrading to the latest stable samba. It sounds like a Windows problem, but the clients may be getting mixed signals from the server.

    Try

    HERE

    and ask the experts. Sorry I couldn't help you out more. If you find the solution please let me know. Thanks.