Windows 7 install ??

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by RDW, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. RDW

    RDW BTDT

    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    PRK
    Installed Win 7 last nite, and have some questions.

    1. How can I get the "Classic View?"

    2. How do I move my Outlook files from Vista to Win 7? (Outlook 2007)

    3. How can I put an Outlook Shortcut on my task bar?

    4. Can I put Win 7 Home premium on a second hard drive on the same computer?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2010
  2. HKUSP45Css

    HKUSP45Css

    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, by God, Texas
    1. Try it with the new interface for a couple of weeks, you'll probably find it more intuitive after you get used to it. If you must have a classic view:
    >There are some 3rd party utilities to help you do this but no way to natively change it in Windoze. You can follow this tutorial to "tweak" it like the old school look but, it won't be the classic menu you're fond of:http://win7vista.com/index.php?topic=1414.0

    2. Export your files from Outlook on the old PC:
    >C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook\Outlook.pst

    Import on new PC:
    >Office Button>Info>Account Settings>Data File "Tab">Add..>Browse to file you copied to the new PC

    3. Right-Click on the icon in your start menu>Send to..>Desktp (Create Shortcut)
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2010

  3. Bello

    Bello America/Italia

    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    East Coast
    i dont think you can put win 7 on more then one hard drive i could be wrong but i do know the new windows are keyed to one computer alone... you can try it but idk once u set your key its set and locks the program to one computer.. try let me know
     
  4. HKUSP45Css

    HKUSP45Css

    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, by God, Texas
    It might be easier to explain what you're trying to accomplish by doing so.
     
  5. RDW

    RDW BTDT

    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    PRK

    I have two hard drives in the SAME computer.

    My question is - Can I put Win 7 on the second hard drive? Second hard is currently running VISTA Home Premium.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2010
  6. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd

    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    michigan
    You can change to the Windows Classic theme simply by right-clicking on the desktop, clicking on Personalize, then scrolling down and clicking on Windows Classic.
     
  7. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
  8. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Right click on any program icon and select "Pin to Taskbar"

    .
     
  9. MavsX

    MavsX The Dude Abides

    Messages:
    3,033
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    that's what i was going to suggest. Although i prefer to pin them to the start menu instead.

    Why would he want to have 7 home as well? Maybe to access those files?

    i did think it was funny when he said i have 2 hard drives in the SAME computer. haha, that's funny. At my home i have 6 hard drives in the SAME compuiter~!!!!!! :wow::wow:
     
  10. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
  11. RDW

    RDW BTDT

    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    PRK