close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Win7 has built-in ISO burning!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Drjones, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. Drjones

    Drjones

    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    So I needed to create a couple bootable CD/DVDs today and when I right-clicked on an .ISO file in Windows 7, I saw a menu item that said "Burn Image."

    I did a quick Google search which confirmed my suspicions: you can create bootable CD/DVDs right from windows 7, no third-party software required! Just right-click the .ISO (think it will handle .IMG files too) click "burn image" and then specify your drive.

    It successfully created a bootable Windows 7 DVD for me.

    Very cool!
     
  2. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Now all they need to add is the ability to mount an image ....
     

  3. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,898
    Likes Received:
    2,275
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    :rofl::rofl:

    I actually just finished putting Win 7 in a virtual machine to try it... I will give my 100% unbiased opinion shortly. By the way, Linux has been doing this w/ ISO images for a while.. :)

    IGF
     
  4. JK-linux

    JK-linux

    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    664
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    My Mac does .iso's .dmg's, etc... natively as well. Glad to hear Windows finally caught up.
     
  5. MavsX

    MavsX The Dude Abides

    Messages:
    3,033
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    that would be sweet
     
  6. Isaiah1412

    Isaiah1412

    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    Abingdon, Maryland
    I've used Alex Feinman's ISOBurner utility for years to do this in XP and Vista. Glad to head they finally added it natively.
     
  7. Toyman

    Toyman

    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Location:
    West Michigan
  8. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
  9. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    There is an XP powertoy to enable right click ISO burn.
     
  10. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham Footlong Jr.

    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    Daemon Tools Lite.
     
  11. Stoneofrefuge

    Stoneofrefuge

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    There is another open sourced program on the net. Its called Inferarecorder. Its open sourced and free. I use it all the time. Its painless to use. Windows 7 is what vista should have been. Its awesome. the clarity and the robustness. Now with vista, I have to continuosly delete logs daily because if I don;t, I will have a slow running computer. I am looking to upgrade to Windows 7 soon.
     
  12. tbird911

    tbird911

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Virtual Clone Drive Works Great!
     
  13. Drjones

    Drjones

    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States

    I don't think it works with Win7....I could be wrong, but I think that I tried it & it didn't run on Win7....wasn't compatible.
     
  14. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham Footlong Jr.

    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    The latest version works with Win7, they released it last month.
     
  15. Drjones

    Drjones

    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States

    I tried it & it still doesn't work. I have Win 7 Ultimate.

    They try to get you to install so much crap (home page change, toolbar, etc) it isn't worth it anyway.
     
  16. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham Footlong Jr.

    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    I'm running DAEMON Tools Lite v4.35.5 (with SPTD 1.62) with Win 7 ultimate 64, works great.

    You have the option of not installing their crapware and home page.

    ETA: I guess it was Oct 30 they released this.
     
  17. TuxthePenguin

    TuxthePenguin

    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    PowerShell and the DISM command. However, it only mounts WIMs.