close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Will G20 Barrel fit G29

Discussion in 'The 10 Ring' started by xtremetj, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. xtremetj

    xtremetj

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    Will a Lone Wolf G20 conversion barrel to .40 cal fit or run in my G29? I never thought about the .40 cal up till now. My son has G20 so we'd both be using it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011
  2. OregonG20

    OregonG20

    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    545
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon

  3. xtremetj

    xtremetj

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    That was quick. I didn't think so but figured it was worth asking.

    Thanks!
     
  4. arushus

    arushus Biggest Member

    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    NE Oklahoma
    No, itd be nice if it did, but the locking block and barrel lugs are different. Now if the locking block from a 20 would fit into a 29, it might be possible. Carrier has looked into this some, and being as he owns a 29 and a 21, he could tell you the specifics better than me. Im sure he'll be along to chime in sooner or later.
     
  5. glock20c10mm

    glock20c10mm

    Messages:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Location:
    Out West
    Nope, but with pics...G29 barrel is the top barrel in both pics.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Just no way those could fit correctly in the other platform.
     
  6. 21Carrier

    21Carrier Until I Gota 29

    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hoover, AL
    Just get an extended G29 barrel from KKM or Storm Lake. It's actually about the same price as a G20 barrel.
     
  7. NavyVet1959

    NavyVet1959

    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Texas, ya'll
    You can shoot .40s in the 10mm G29 barrel, so you don't have to change it. It's like shooting .38s in a .357mag barrel. The extractor holds the case very well.

    I stumbled across this thread while looking for info on putting a longer barrel in a G29.
     
  8. vaquero aleman

    vaquero aleman "ah-lay-mahn"

    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    The Wild Wild West
    I have an LWD G29 10mm 4.6" barrel and it does just fine for me, 10mm or 40 S&W. Its a little finicky when it comes to hot, boutique ammo, but mid level major factory ammo runs great. I am fairly sure that if I got the chamber reamed out a little that it would solve any and all of my feeding problems.



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2014
  9. happie2shoot

    happie2shoot

    Messages:
    5,228
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    I use the same barrel in my g30 and it works good,
    I followed GRT45s advice on the extractor and it works
    for 45, 40 and 10mm, go here for advice,
    http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?p=18970140#post18970140:wavey:
     
  10. NavyVet1959

    NavyVet1959

    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Texas, ya'll
    You can *physically* put a G20 barrel in a G29, but you will then need to remove the butt plate on the slide to disassemble it. You won't be able to cycle the slide or field strip it the normal way. Well, at least on the Gen3 models it is that way.

    In other words, don't do it... Personal experience here... :)