close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

why-glock

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by bruce1331, Aug 12, 2003.

1. bruce1331

bruce1331 Millennium Member

Why ? do you carry a glock 45 over all other guns ? I am trying to justify why I should. I bounce back and forth between glocks and 1911.

2. El Toro Loco

El Toro Loco

Bruce,
    G21 13rds vs. 8 rds in a 1911, would be enough said, but clearly you would like some more info. At least the following will be my opinion, I have a 2nd gen glock 21, which I love. It is one of the smoothest, easiest, most reliable gun I have ever own. I have own a Sig, Ruger, and have shot dozens other, and would not trade my G21 for anything.
    I am over 3k rounds through and had only 1 malfunction, that was not the its fault ( rim on the case failed). It eats everything from PMC, UMC, Winchester, and S&B without fail. I know some 1911's are picky on what you put through them.
    I am a reserve officer in IN and would not never venture out without my G21. I have night sights and 3 hi-caps.
    Like I said this is my opinion only, but I am sure that there are many that will back me up.

Alex Ramon/ El Toro Loco

3. rappa29

rappa29 JAFO

I bought a G36 over the Kimber Ultra Carry, SIG P245, Springfield Compact b\c:

1.) Price (about $100 difference).
    2.) Familiarity w\manual of arms (I've owned a G19 for over 10 yrs).
    3.) Ready to go right out of the box. Didn't want to have to take it to a smith for 'tuning' or 'tricking out' before I could start carrying it. It went from the display case, to the range (1000rds in a week), to my hip.

I'll eventually add a 1911 or SIG 220 to the armory, but for carrying, the G36 fit my needs and budget.

4. Signal Zero

Signal Zero

Simplicity and durability. When I carried other pistols IWB and sweated, I had to disassemble them regularly to clean/dry them out before they rusted--pull grips off, etc.