Who is a Verteran?

Discussion in 'Veteran's Forum' started by MADISON, Nov 18, 2005.

1. MADISON

MADISON Millennium Member

In 1973[?] Nixon and Congress made the mistake of abolishing the DRAFT. Since then America has "An All Volenteer Army". I was in the military during the 60's but, not Vietnam. Under no circumstance do I want to defame those who served in war time! Am I a verteran or someone who served?

2. MrMurphy

MrMurphy ********* Moderator Lifetime Member Millennium Member

It's "veteran".

Under the "rules" of nowadays, you are indeed a veteran, just not a combat veteran.

Everybody calls me a veteran and I've only been in six months. But I'm not a combat veteran.

3. skyboss_4evr

skyboss_4evr

Murphy is correct. A veteran by definition is anyone who served in the uniformed services whether during peacetime or wartime. Just don't ever refer to yourself as a "verteran" ;)

4. 19-2

19-2

I'm a combat vet. 60's USMC. Problem now days, that and a quarter won't buy you a cup of coffee. Sorry had to vent a little.
    [​IMG]

5. G19Tony

G19Tony Sneet CLM

I am from the planet Verteran ;b

6. habu3

habu3

The way I figure it, if you wore the uniform of one of our uniformed services and served honorably you are a Vet!

7. Rigormootis

Rigormootis Semper Gumby

There is such thing as "protected veteran" status. This is still used on most state/federal job aps and other forms. To qualify you must have served during a time where you were awarded an expeditionary or service medal pertaining to a specific wartime or combat operation (the GWOTSM and GWOTEM are of course the 2 most recent such medals).

8. Guest