Who else can understand foreign languages, but can't speak a word?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by HollowHead, Feb 27, 2020.

1. HollowHead

HollowHead Firm member

I understand what Germans and Italians are saying to me, but I'll be damned...all I can do is nod. HH

2. Grabbrass

Grabbrass

Well I've been learning Japanese since 1985, lived there for two years in the early 90's. Got married to a Japanese girl in 2000 and we've been together over 20 yrs if you count the time before we got married. And over those 20 years we've developed a mix of English and Japanese we speak at home, but my verbal capabilities ... my ability to actually speak in whole sentences outside the comfort zone we've made ... is very limited. But we watch a lot of Japanese TV and movies. A couple hours every night. So yeah, my comprehension of spoken Japanese is off the chart compared to when I lived there. I don't even need subtitles, unless the show uses some specialized vocabulary for a particular profession or is a historical drama with archaic words. So whenever we go there to visit, I can hold a conversation with people I meet just fine, so long as they're content speaking to a 7 year old.

What has to happen is immersion, where you're forced to speak and think in the other language. Then all that vocabulary you know turns into speech you can transmit, not just receive.

Berto, OGW, AddAGlock and 2 others like this.

3. Intolerant

Intolerant

I can relate to Grabbrass... i`m 100% Italian, i cant barely speak Italian intelligently, nore can i read it and understand that good, but i know what my family is saying to me when they come over from Italy to visit. They actually speak better english than i do Italian, and english is a very hard language to learn. But of course they are a whole lot smarter than me, so.... :(

Grabbrass likes this.
  4. Just_plinking

Just_plinking

Mas cervezas por favor, andale, speedy gonzales, gracias muchacho.