close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Which waders for recreational kayaking?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by sjfrellc, Jan 29, 2006.

1. sjfrellc

sjfrellc CLM

I've never used waders before, but I want to go kayaking in a 9 1/2 foot general use kayak. I'll be on Kent Lake in Michigan and the Huron river in cold winter weather or cold spring water.

Chest high waders might be tough to use with Personal Flotation Device (life vest). I'm not sure whether to get the waders with the boots or slippers. Would Cabela's dry-plus waders work? for cold weather do I need a larger size to wear warm socks underneath or long underwear?

2. noway

noway

How cold is it ? The reason why I ask, you don't want a heavy thick wader on since you will be generating heat from the paddling thus you could lead to sweating and then when you stop to rest you will be cold. If your kayak has a skirting, I would get the thin pair of hip waders and draw the skirt in and wear clothes in layer with a poncho. Chest waders might lead to impairment and read the next sentence below;

(important )

"Remember with waders and boating if you should ditch you will be taking on water and weighing a ton or more"

I struggle to get into my sml boat after ditching in waters 70degs and wearing nothing but the thinnest chest waders and yes I struggle. The lake was only 10ft deep and I had to paddle and push myself to an area that was 4-5ft just to push up in the boat. I would bet in a colder enviroment like Lake Mi or so I would have never made it.

Just something to think about and make sure you wear your PFD ;)

3. cdarney

cdarney

No Waders!!!

You will die if you dump. If the water is very cold use a dry suit. If the water is moderately cold use a wet suit. If the water is 75F or better and it's nice out, go naked.

Don't use cotton either.

4. sjfrellc

sjfrellc CLM