close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Which to carry? G19 (3.5) or G26 (5.5)

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by brianr34, Jan 24, 2010.

1. brianr34

brianr34

I am new to Glocks within the last 3 months. My first purchase was a G19 with night sights and it came with a Glock 3.5 connnector. I purchased the G19 to be a multi purpose handgun (home defense, IDPA, range and potential CCW)

I am considering CCW so I recently picked up a G26 with a stock 5.5 connector. I figured the G26 would be easier to conceal and maybe it was best to CCW a stock connector.

At the range I shoot the G19 much better than the G26.

Here is my question.

Is it OK to CCW the G19 with the 3.5 connector? My thought is, it is important to be accurate with your CCW gun. I have read that there are some concerns using the 3.5 connector on a CCW from a legal viewpoint.

If anyone has experience with CCW the G19 with the 3.5 connector, I would appreciate it.

2. t-shooter

t-shooter

The Glock 19 in its original form is an outstanding personal defense firearm. The presence of a 3.5 lb disconnector will likely make the ordeal of a post shooting legal process even worse. Have a Glock armorer return the 19 to factory original condition and carry it until your skills with the 26 are equal to the 19. You have 2 excellent defensive firearms.

My two cents worth.

3. bluelineman

bluelineman Infidel كافر

Go with whatever you shoot better. In your case, the G19.

What state do you live in?

4. 9mmkungfu

9mmkungfu

Go with the 19. A shoot is either justifiable, or not. The connector won't make a difference in that respect.

5. brianr34

brianr34

6. brianr34

brianr34

I like to shoot IDPA, so I would prefer to leave the G19 with the 3.5 connector and CCW it also. Ideally, you should IDPA with the same gun that you CCW to become more familiar.

Just a little bit concerned about the 3.5 connector for CCW.

7. DLL9mm

DLL9mm