close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Which media to use?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Jaker, Feb 21, 2010.

1. Jaker

Jaker

I cant find any info on the different types of media for different results or applications. Im just starting to learn the reloading process. any help would be great.

2. Cobra64

Cobra64 Deals in Facts

I use this stuff.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 21, 2010

3. ron59

ron59 Bustin Caps

I use ground corn cob, and am more than happy with the results. Some use walnut, some use kitty litter.... etc. Many add "nu finish" (a car polishing product) into the media for better shine. I've still got some "brass polish" I bought when I got my media that works fine, but when I run out of that will try the nu finish.

Unlike many of the OTHER aspects of reloading... the cost of media is pretty cheap to experiment with. By one and see how you like it. Buy something different the next time if you don't.

4. Jon_R

Jon_R

I have one bowl for crushed walnut and one bowl for corn cob media. I get them from Petsmart by the big old bag. It is cheap, no shipping, and allows me to swap frequently. I use Dillon polish right now but might change to something else when I need more.

In general I use Walnut for Rifle and Corn Cob for pistol. The size of my Petsmart corncob can hang up in the bottle neck rifle cartridges (.223) so I use Walnut.

I run it about 3 hours in the tumbler per batch. Gets it clean enough for me. Could run it longer and get it like new but it is not that important to me.

5. BK63

BK63

Walnut from Petsmart. I found that the Walnut does not have all the dust that corn cob does. When I used corn cob I had to find different methods to wipe all the cases off after tumbling. With the walnut I take them out of the tumbler and I'm done.

6. Boxerglocker

Boxerglocker Jacks #1 Fan