close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

which glock to build a race gun out of

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by guitarscrub, Sep 7, 2002.

1. guitarscrub

guitarscrub

I was wondering what Glock would be best for building a race gun out of. I am not doing any competition but have thought about it. I am going to get a new glock next weekend and wanted to get something that could do home protection and can be dreesed up into a race gun.

thanks

2. Flexmoney

Flexmoney

Kinda depends on where you wanna race. USPSA? Open? Limited?

3. guitarscrub

guitarscrub

I don't really know as I am new to it all. I curently own a g27 that I will use for CCW. I know there are a lot of optional gear for Glocks & 1911's. I would like a gun that I could have fun building and shooting.

4. Flexmoney

Flexmoney

I would stick with the 40 then...it will compliment your G27.

One of the full-size 40's makes for a very versatile competition gun. The G22 or G35 are excellent choices. I currently shoot (and have for a while) a G35 in competition. I like it just fine, however,,, I would be just as comfortable with a G22. A G22 (slighty shorter barrel) will get in and out of IDPA and Production class holsters easier. All it needs is a little trigger work and it is ready to go. (OK...maybe some new sights and an extended mag release)

5. D.E. Marksman

D.E. Marksman