What the police man said...

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by youngbuck, Feb 22, 2010.

1. youngbuck

youngbuck He's Tyrone!

I have read a good way to get ideas about ammo is to ask local police what they like to carry. So I just happened to have a chance to ask a local officer recently and he told me he just uses hollowpoints. When I asked what kind his response was he didnt know what they were. He said they werent department issued so it made me wonder how could he not know? He then asked what kind of guns I had and I mentioned my g23 and he said he hates them since they have no external safety (he carried a colt .45 is all he said). He then claimed that any agency issuing glocks would basically be dumb and would have a fair amount of misfires.

Since I am a newb I was unprepared to explain the glock's saftey mechanisms and I asked the question if he ever knew of any officer that had to draw their weapon and forgot to disengage the safety.

My question is how would you have handled this situation with intelligent responses? I have no need to be disrespectful towards the man just want to be better informed for next time

2. boomhower

boomhower

From the sounds of the conversation I would have just let it go. He was obviously set in his ways and not open for debate.

I see nothing wrong with duty weapons with safeties. A properly trained officer will never have an issue with it, it will be muscle memory. Again there is nothing wrong with having no external safety. Your safety is your brain and finger. We carry Glocks and I would not want to change to a different firearm with an external safety because then I would be worried about not disengaging after so much time not having one.

3. duckintheface

duckintheface

We tend to think of police officers as agents of force, since they are the people who have a presumption of being armed and can legally use armed force in situations where the rest of us could not.