What sunglasses do you prefer?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by gloxter, May 19, 2007.

1. gloxter

gloxter Guest

I've always wanted to ask a commercial pilot of his/her recommendation or choice of sunglasses, but don't fly frequently enough to ask (or remember to ask).

For the record, I'm not a pilot; but I do drive fire apparatus.

Sorry if this has been covered before.

2. flyandscuba

flyandscuba

I prefer the standard Ray Ban green-gray (G15) tint. Also, with today's glass cockpits, polarized lenses are a no no -- if you want to be able to read your displays, that is...

3. aircarver

aircarver Descent Terminated Silver Member

+1 on what flyandscuba said, except I prefer straight gray tint.

4. jacquejet

jacquejet

5. flyguydaniel

flyguydaniel

I've been flying with some Revo wire frames for the past 2 or 3 years. They are polarized, but I have no problem seeing the screen on our Garmin 430s or G1000 glass cockpit. They are also a Brown/Rose tint which is a high contrast lens. I.e. blues are bluer and greens are greener. It really helps in spotting other traffic. The wire frames also slip perfectly under my headset. Sunglasses being able to fit comfortably under headsets is a big issue. Maui Jim's have the same size frame but are also polarized. Both are expensive.
    Revo Sungalsses
    Maui Jim's

6. GlueSniffinEd

GlueSniffinEd Guest

Not a professional here, but I use polarized Maui Jim's on the drive to the airport and non-polarized neutral gray Ray-Ban's in the cockpit.

7. k9medic

k9medic

It depends on what I am flying.

If I am teaching a student then I do not wear sunglasses. I want the student to see that I an evaluating him/her, rather than just day dreaming. You can convey a little more that way.

In the airplane I wear a pair of Ray Bans that have a gray lense. They are not the aviator style, just a stylish pair of glasses.