What method do you prefer for cleaning your Brass?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by CDR_Glock, Mar 27, 2017.

1. CDR_Glock

CDR_Glock

i have been using corn media for a few years. It gets dusty and dirty but it works.

A friend told me about using stainless steel media and a tumbler, using dishwashing soap. Sounds and looks like a viable option for cleaner Brass. I realize there are extra steps but the volume of Brass tumbled is much higher (1000 of 223) than what I can do on my Lyman 1200. Sure it has to be rinsed and then dried. I don't plan to deprime them beforehand since I have a progressive.

What's your take and experience?

2. WeeWilly

WeeWilly

I tumble with corn cob and crushed walnuts.

Your friend is right, wet tumbling is far better for your environment (not so much where you pour the waste water) and the cases will look like new. Use lube when loading even the smallest pistol caliber after the wet tumble, they will be sticky like any new case.

3. Ponce

Ponce

I like to wet tumble. I just process brass when I get enough for a full batch. I have thousands of clean cases of the 7 calibers I reload.

I also add 2 table spoons of wash and wax, and a quarter teaspoon of limeshine to each batch.

Valmet, dudel and CDR_Glock like this.
  4. Russ Not the Mod

Russ Not the Mod

I am particularly interested in this thread because I am new to reloading. I have used the water/vinegar/soap/lemishine with good results without a tumbler. I just put my brass into a plastic coffee jug and shake it around, up and down etc. Do this on and off for a couple of hours and all is well.

Inside and outside pretty clean. At least by my eye. I have to get as much water out shaking in towels and let it dry for a few days. It works though with not a lot of effort.

Do tumblers get the insides real clean too?

Russ P

5. ede

ede

corn cob and walnut 75/25 mix along with NuFinish and mineral spirits. I use a concrete mixer for most of my tumbleing.

6. lethal tupperwa