close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What happened to my settings...?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by PDogSniper, Dec 8, 2004.

  1. PDogSniper

    PDogSniper

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southwest Michigan
    I'm using IE and use to be able to run two browsers at the same time. Now for some reason when I try to open a second IE all it does is close the first page and open a new home page...

    What happened...?
     
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp

  3. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Or you could try a better browser!!

    You'll be far better off with anything other than Internet Exploder, for sure.
     
  4. PDogSniper

    PDogSniper

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southwest Michigan
    Why would that prevent the browser from opening in a new window...? I've never had this problem before and I hardly ever dump my temp folders...

    It's driving me crazy. Everytime I click on a link instead of opening in a new window it opens in the orginal window...

    It's got to be a setting somewhere. Oh yea, I'm using XP also...
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    In XP you should be able to dump your temp folders.There is a bug in Windows 98 and I think ME where that function doesn't work.XP requires a lot of memory and the Explorer updates might require even more now.When things get too full of clutter that's one of the things that happens.CCleaner is safe and fast anyway.It also makes up for the bug in Win 98 but I use it with XP too.
     
  6. Zoolander

    Zoolander Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    I dunno, man.

    It happened to me too once but I can't remember how I fixed it.

    ;1
     
  7. TechniK

    TechniK 4B50LU7 H4X0R.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    How about downloading Firefox.

    It is so much better than IE, hands down.

    Spyware doesn't affect Firefox either.
     
  8. PDogSniper

    PDogSniper

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southwest Michigan
    What is CCleaner and why can't I just dump the cache or folders without it...?
     
  9. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    In Windows XP you should be able to to do that without problems.I am using XP and CCleaner works fine on it.CCleaner or similar program is required with Windows 98 because the empty temp folders function in Win 98 does not work.It is a bug in Win 98.CCleaner also cleans a bunch of other stuff and gets rid of some spyware/adware.
     
  10. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    CCleaner also gets rid of just about everything that AdAware does but is much faster.It takes seconds and the program is very small.
     
  11. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    For XP only: Open C(system drive):/windows/prefetch, delete those junk and obsolete files, reboot. ...The prefetch in XP gets full.
     
  12. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp