Home > The Armory > Reloading > What gives?

What gives?

1. I've been reloading for at least 15 years and I've never had a problem with any reloads in any pistol except Glock. I've owned three Glocks and all have locked up tight on my reloads with a failure to go into battery. No other pistol brand has been a problem. So are Glock chambers tighter? I used to use a Lee FCD thinking it would help with this issue. But when I measured a reloaded case with and without the FCD there wasn't any size difference. So I quite using the FCD. But today my new Glock 19 locked on a round that wouldn't fully chamber. I think I'm done with Glocks unless someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong.

2. You're doing something wrong! Glock chambers are very forgiving.

3. It isn't the Glock that is your problem. While Glock 9mm chambers are not overly generous like their straight walled caliber cousins, they are not "tight".

One thing you can start doing to limit the frustration, is either get a case gauge and use it on your finished rounds, or just use the barrel out of the gun you plan to use your reloads in and perform a plunk test. That way, until you can figure out what the problem is, at least you won't have any chambering problems when you are trying to focus on shooting.

Have someone who knows more than you, inspect the rejects and help you identify your problem(s).

4. The solution to chambering problems is to determine the cause:

Take the barrel out of the gun. Drop rounds in until you find one that won't chamber. Take that round and "paint" the bullet and case black with Magic Marker or other marker. Drop round in barrel (or gage) and rotate it back-and-forth a few times.

Remove and inspect the round:

1) Scratches in the ink on bullet--COL is too long

2) Scratches in the ink on edge of the case mouth--insufficient crimp

3) Scratches in the ink just below the case mouth--too much crimp, you're crushing the case