close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What gadgets do you take with you to hunt deer?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by ClydeG19, Sep 8, 2004.

1. ClydeG19

ClydeG19

This is quite a broad topic but I don't want to clog the board with dozens of newbie hunter questions.

Do you guys use stands or do you hunt from the ground off of a camp chair (or some other method)? Do you use scent blocking stuff or simply try to stay downwind? Do you scout a lot before the season and during the off season? Do you hunt on public land or private? Feel free to throw in whatever tidbits of knowledge you would like as well.

2. noway

noway

>hunt down wind on public hunting grounds, from the ground

>This is my first year hunting with scent blockers and masking, but even with all of the gizzmos , still try to stay downwind

>do as much scouting as I can, but after the season is starting the deer decide on what/where/when to be

I bring water, knife, rope, food, stool, and license and weapon ;f

3. knuckle dragger

knuckle dragger NSAWC

No gadgets..just the basics
    Fanny pack
    Flashlight
    Spare ammo
    Knife
    Rope
    couple of candy bars
    water..
    depending on the amount of beer drank the night before 1or 2 rolls of TP..

4. Short Cut

Short Cut PatrioticMember CLM

Not deer, but elk. Similar enough so here goes.

Gadgets:
    binoculars - Pentax Pentax DCF-SP 10x43

scope - Leupold Vari X III

Laser rangefinder - Leica 1200

Spotting scope (not used as often) - Pentax PF-80ED-A

Garmin Rino 120 (new this year) allows two way communication, GPS functions and the ability to see on the GPS where the other members in your hunting group are.

Other than that I think my pack has pretty standard survival and sustenance items.

I don't use any scent blocker however I'm careful about the soap, hygiene products, laundry detergent. I hunt on the ground.

5. muddydog

muddydog

i have a daypack that i carry..