What do you use for home recording?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by lonewolf01, May 19, 2005.

  1. lonewolf01

    lonewolf01

    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    I have an old (20 years) Tascam Porta One Ministudio that I've been nursing along but it's time has come. I just do some low level recording at home for myself and need something like the Tascam. I've seen a newer one they have called the DP-01FX that looks cool and has a hard drive but what about computer software? Does that stuf work as good and what do I need for that (besides a computer)?

    What should I use? pros and cons of each?
     
  2. punkture

    punkture

    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Location:
    mississippi

  3. frettedfive

    frettedfive KE5BSR

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    For most recording, be it vocals or instruments, I use a dbx 376 Tube Channel Strip running SPDIF into the external port box from my SoundBlaster Audigy on my computer. My primary recording mic (which is currently in need of repair at the moment... don't ask :( ) is a Groove Tubes GT66. I really like to use tubes when recording direct to my computer because, to my ears at least, it warms the sound up nicely.

    I'll sometimes record instruments direct through the port box of the Audigy; but most of the time I'll go through the dbx as a pre-amp.

    I basically record direct into Sonic Foundry SoundForge, although I'm looking into getting a ProTools setup of some sort as soon as funds become available; probably a digi002.

    For recording away from the computer, such as at a jam session with my friends, I'll run the sources through my little Behringer MX602A mixer and record to my Sony MZ-R50 mini-disc recorder.
     
  4. greenlead

    greenlead

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    Here is something you might be interested in:
    The Linux Audio Developers have been hard at work for the past couple of years.

    The JACK Connection Kit lets you route audio data between programs.

    All you will really need is a multitrack sound card.

    Try getting started here:
    http://www.linux-sound.org
    http://www.djcj.org/LAU/guide/index.php

    There is a live CD available here: http://www.dynebolic.org

    Nothing is super polished yet, but give it a year or so.
     
  5. beavis1957

    beavis1957 GO GAMECOCKS!

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, SC
    Roland VS-1880 w/ CD burner.

    Its preamp and FX card sucks but overall its a great unit for the money. I've been very happy with the things we've done with it and with its ease of use.
     
  6. 1911lover

    1911lover Fiddler1911

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    ive just got a good hookup for my p.c. makes for much better editing
     
  7. joegerardi

    joegerardi Lifetime Member Millennium Member

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 18, 1999
    Location:
    Savannah, GA, USA
    My synth rig's (see the "Your Setup" thread) audio feeds into a Mackie 1602 mixer. A stereo output is routed into my computer via 2 aux sends, while the main L-R outs feed into my reference monitors. The PC is running an E-Mu APS (Audio Production Studio) audio/sound card the the KX Project ASIO drivers. All THAT is controlled by Cubase for recording audio and MIDI, and which also outputs MIDI data into a JL Cooper Synapse MIDI patch bay to control all the MIDI routings to the various synths.

    At the same time, the Synapse also feeds from all the synths into the PC so that I can record MIDI data onto tracks in Cubase.

    Now, if I want to record live audio from my violins, I'm using Kristal, because it's down-and-dirty, simple recording. Except the electric violin. That goes through the mixer into Cubase.

    Clear as mud, innit? :)

    ..Joe