What do I do with this RCBS powder measure?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Laramie In MT, Feb 24, 2010.

1. Laramie In MT

Laramie In MT

Take it easy...I'm a noob :)

Got an RCBS JR2 and a few other odds and ends for free.

Can this be threaded onto a die, or is it only a bench mount powder measure?

[​IMG]

2. buyobuyo

buyobuyo

Pretty sure that's a Lyman 55 measure. It looks just like the one I have. I made a weighted stand mine that it clamps onto. You could also make a stand that the drop tube screws into. If you don't want to make something, Lyman sells a stand for it.

3. srd

srd

From the looks of the deisign thats an older powder measure which there is nothing wrong with. Looks like bench mount only to me. When its free its even better.

4. Laramie In MT

Laramie In MT

Thanks all. It really looks similar to the Lyman 55 on Midway so I bet ya'll are right, just an older version. What's the little "knocker" on the back for? Held in just by a cotter pin. It is just to vibrate and knock any powder loose?

5. dudel

dudel

That's a bench mount dump.

Before you get all excited, check the drum and chamber for rust and pitting. You want a rust free, smooth surface or it will leak powder, throw inconsistent powder, jam, and do other things that will get you hating life.

6. Laramie In MT

Laramie In MT

Good to know. I sure will check it out before I'm relying on it. If the insides look good and I double check charges w/ my RCBS 5-0-5 and it's throwing the same charge, call it good?

7. GioaJack

GioaJack Conifer Jack

If it's all rusted inside paint it blue, tell C4W it's a Dillon and sell it to him for a hundred bucks.

Jack

8. Bob2223

Bob2223 Jack's buddy!

:rofl:

Bob

9. PCJim

PCJim Senior Member

Correct. If used properly, throw the powder, then use the "knocker" to strike the housing once or twice to ensure there is no powder bridging in the unit.