close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

what defense ammo do you carry?

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by jimbullet, Jul 14, 2006.

1. jimbullet

jimbullet

I just thought since I have very little experience with the 9mm cartridge and has been all my life a 45 guy, I just wanted to know what you guys carried as self defense ammo and probably if you have any inputs as to which defense ammo should I stay away from for a glock.

Presently, Im using the hornady xtp as defense ammo, but is the hydrashok, PMC starfire or the corbon dpx any better in your opinion?

2. HEAVY

HEAVY "Verify!"

im not a +p fan myself.

i believe the snappy recoil might inhibit shot placement on a shot to shot aspect. (i believe shot placement more important than expansion.)

so i stay away from corbons and other hot +p and +p+ loads.

i carry remington golden sabres, 147 gr.

3. isuzu

isuzu

For the .45 ACP, my favorite load is the 230gr Federal Hydra Shok. Very accurate. For the 9mm, 124 gr Federal Hydra Shok.

Some people criticize the Hydra Shok as "old and obsolete." For me, there's nothing wrong with these rounds as long as they perform to what they're expected to do.

4. jimbullet

jimbullet

Isuzu, Isnt the 230 gr hydrashok for the 45 kinda slow due to the weight of the bullet? My 45 normally had 180 gr heads on it either a silvertip or an xtp.

Anyway, is there such a thing as black talons for 9mm's? Any report on this ammo? positive or negative?

5. MR_BIG

MR_BIG

jim

sir youre opening a can of worms, its the weight that helps it in penetration but not too much to cause over penetration. velocity helps in expansion, too much velocity turns your typical jhp to a fmj thus overpenetration and even if it goes thru a person, a 230gr ball would give 2 big holes

6. rhino465

rhino465