Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Consummate Reloader
1,509 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been loading some 9mm for the first time. Just want some reasonably accurate loads that I can practice with and shoot steel plates. My very experienced friend said to just get 115gr bullets and I did and they work great. I've been shooting 40 and 45 for many years, no need to go for a major load in 9mm as I've got that covered. So before I buy 3K of the 115 coated I want to be sure I'm not missing out on something. What are the main uses of the various bullet weights? 115 and 147 are pretty straight forward, but what's the point of those in between?

115 - standard
124 - ?
135 - ?
147 - major power factor, I don't need that from 9mm

·
Registered
5,577 Posts
If you're really building a (USPSA) major load for 9mm, most guys I know use 124gr fmj. I'm sure a bunch of the GT braintrust will jump in here, but in my experience, it depends on what you're doing with your rounds. For example, if you're trying to make a specific power factor (bullet weight times velocity divided by 1000) for IDPA or USPSA, some guys, like me, will like heavier bullets (147 or 165gr) driven slower, for a "flatter" gun with less "snap." More than a few guys don't like the the way the timing on those rounds feel and how it returns the sights to the target and use bullets like the 115, 124 or 135s, and the "quicker" slide cycling. It really does depend on what you're doing with the round.