What’s the deal with open carry??

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by boatman1, Sep 8, 2019.

1. boatman1

boatman1

i’m not An expert on any of this so please feel free to set me straight.

I live in Georgia and have a carry permit. I have always thought it pretty stupid to open carry my weapon because I figure if there is an issue I am telegraphing for the bad guy to shoot me first whereas if I carry concealed I may have an advantage.

I know that a lot of people are really mad about Walmart disallowing open carry but continuing to allow concealed carry for permit holders. To me, it’s not a big deal. I hear some people say they will feel less safe because they can no longer carry a weapon when they go to Walmart. But they can get a permit and continue to carry, so what am I missing?

Also, all the other stores are getting on this band wagon on disallowing weapons but I haven’t heard them say if they are OK with carrying concealed as long as you have a permit. If they are saying no guns at all then I have a problem with it but if you can still carry concealed with a permit then it’s not a big issue for me. Am I missing something??

2. willie_pete

willie_pete NRA Life Member

I agree, Open carry is a fool’s errand.

3. TeaDub

TeaDub

4. talon

talon

I think OC should be legal just so that if I have to remove my cover garment for some reason I'm not committing a crime.

n2g, Intolerant, Stevekozak and 18 others like this.
  5. illrooster132

illrooster132

open carry is for those who want to show off what they have. this is my personal opinion.
    open carry work in urban places not in big cities. if I was to live in Montana I would be more than happy to open carry but I live in Miami. i think it depends on the place where it would work, the city is not the place.

6. R*E

R*E

Don't you know that open carry prevents many things.:honkie:

gunowner1 likes this.
  7. sonoma

sonoma