Well, the kids know I carry now. Scary incident, but all ok.

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by FrogWithAGlock, Feb 17, 2010.

1. FrogWithAGlock

FrogWithAGlock Girl with a Gun

Very long....

So, I've been carrying for 8 months or so. I've had talks with my kids about guns, etc (some of you may remember my "what to tell the kids" thread from last year). My now 7yo has asked how I would defend them away from the house, etc. I've hinted that I might be carrying, but never really said it.

Then Monday happened. Monday, being Presidents' Day, there was no school. So I had both girls with me, running errands. I decided to take a drive, just for fun, and ended up heading toward a large furniture chain store, in town (LONG way from my house - "going to town" is a big deal since we moved to a rural area). Figured we'd window shop new couches.

When we got to that area, I was curious where the road that ran BEHIND the furniture store went, so I drove down it a ways. Just some industrial buildings, and a mail-service building, then the road ends, and beyond that is dirt and prairie. Turned into the parking lot of the mail service building to turn around (rather than making a u-turn in the street).

While still in the driveway of the mail center (I had not pulled into the street at all), a car comes pealing out of the dirt lot/prairie (to the north of me, I am on the West side of the street), speeding down the road. JUST as he is about to pass me, the driver swerves and almost nails me (comes up into the driveway quite a bit), then swerves out of the way and continues speeding down the street. I yell out in surprise "oh my gosh", and throw up my hand defensively (no rude gestures of any kind, just completely startled). The guy glared at me, and continued down the road.

I waited a few seconds, to catch my breath, calm down my startled children, then "whew, we're all ok", and pulled into the street.