Well I got me a bike!

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by TimP, Aug 22, 2005.

1. TimP

TimP 1 Proud Infidel

I just picked up a used 2005 Yamaha YZF600R via aprivate sale on saturday. Its blue and has 5K miles on it. Never dropped, yet :(

I have no experience riding a bike, just what I got riding dirt bikes as a kid. I am signed up for the MSF riders course this weekend, and a cornerspeed riding school in Spet at VIR.

I bought a Shoei Z-II helmet, and the guy gave me a jacket. I know i need some pants, gloves and boots.

2. JAREDG21

JAREDG21

Have fun you bought a good bike now go out and enjoy it.:cool:

3. TimP

TimP 1 Proud Infidel

Yeah I rode it about 20 miles around my neighboorhood this weekend. Its a gated community, with very little traffic. I was able to practice "parking" it, walking it, taking alot of turns at slow speeds. With the roads being open, and not much traffic I was able to practice some panic braking scenarios. Get up to 30mph and have to stop quick etc. I was used to riding a YZ 250, so this has a lil more pep, but its managable. I'm going to buy some pants, boots and gloves later today.

4. 45acp4me

45acp4me Pissed puppet

Congrats!

Don't get to stupid with the throttle and check out www.newenough.com.

Have fun!
    Glen

5. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

If you can ride a dirt bike then you can easily ride a street bike. You just need to learn to judge braking distances and throttle response, that's all.

6. TimP

TimP 1 Proud Infidel

yeah, its not as fast as the R6 or R1, but its plenty fast enough to beat about any car you would see, and fast enough to get you in trouble. The power delivery is smooth, and pretty linear. I've been riding dirt bikes since I was 12. First a YZ80, 125 then a 250. I'm 5'9 135lbs.