Well, I Finally Did It

Discussion in 'General Competition' started by FillYerHands, Jan 30, 2020.

1. FillYerHands

FillYerHands you son of a

I moved up from D class to C class in USPSA!

I've been shooting USPSA for over 10 years now, starting off in Production, and moving to Limited Minor last year, so I could avoid having to make reloading the main focus of my competition. Well, it worked, and after a shaky start (including a single-digit classifier run), I managed to shoot in the 40's and 50's since. Then, this weekend, I shot well enough that this score bumped the single digit out of the calculation, and bam, I'm a C.

For those interested, I have never been the fastest mover, so my goal has been to shoot better, especially at far targets, and this has worked. I will also say that practicing draws, to get to a quicker first shot, seems to have helped.

So now, looking at my classifier scores, it looks like I can even move up in Production, if I were to shoot the next classifier at 43 or above. Given that this is where I have shot them in the past few months, and given there is really no difference between Production and Limited when shooting classifiers, I wonder if I should shoot Production next match, and should I make C there, let that be my farewell match? Ah, decisions!

And then . . . how do I move up to B? Well, first, I need to shed some weight and get better and faster moving. Plus, shoot all A's, unless by some miracle I win the lottery and upgrade to something that shoots major PF. So, likely it won't be for a few years, any way.

Pierre! likes this.
  2. 9x45

9x45 Millennium Member

If you want to move up in Production with a Glock, then get a G34. It's the largest and heaviest Glock in USPSA Production Division. Shooting a subcompact is no way to move up. Too light, too much recoil, not enough grip surface.

Snoopy47 and Pierre! like this.

3. Bradley T

Bradley T