close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

weight loss plateau

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning' started by Cooper, Apr 5, 2006.

1. Cooper

Cooper

i have lost over 40 lbs in the past 2.5 months. i'm eating 1200 calories a day, min 20 minutes of cardio per day, elliptical 3x per week, weight training for mass 3x per week.

the past three weeks i've lost 1 pound. ONE. this is driving me crazy.

some things i've read suggest that i should incorporate a "Cheating" meal once a week to bust the plateau. any truth to this?

thanks! sorry this is so rushed, i'm late for class . . .

2. NeroGatto

NeroGatto Extraordinaire'

That's alot in a short period of time... I'm no expert but by personal experience keep going and in the next few weeks it should start losing again.

Also, check up on this but 1200 calories a day you might be starving yourself for too long period of time. Maybe ease up to 1500 calories few a bit but make sure you eat no more than 250-300 calories a "meal" and have 5-6 meals a day. (If you already weren't doing that)

3. California Jack

California Jack Millennium Member

I plateued at about 40 pounds too. Fortunately, this was at a weight that was less than I wanted to end up at. So the solution for me was to gain weight.

You proably aren't in that situation. I think the body adapts. If I were yuou I would change something. Add a cheat meal. I actually had a cheat day. Add a cheat day. Change from a low cal diet to a low carb diet. Up your calories a little and eat more frequently as already suggested.

Change your cardio. Instead of 20 minutes on a elliptical do repeats on a rower. Start training for a 10K. Start pulling a weighted sled for your cardio. Walk for 45 minutes to an hour, that is good for fat loss and can actually be enjoyable. Up the intensity on the elliptical, do HIIT on it.