close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Volume 308 loading

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Maine1, Nov 5, 2011.

  1. Maine1

    Maine1

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Maine
    ..for say practice/training. Anyone do it?

    Do you use one headstamp exclusivley, if not do you worry about sizing diferent makes of brass the same?
     
  2. jmorris

    jmorris

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    461
    For loading large volumes of 308 I do have brass that is mixed head stamp and they are all sized the same (to fit a 308 case gauge). You do have to trim and my loads I mix brass with are at the low end of mid range.

    [​IMG]
     

  3. freakshow10mm

    freakshow10mm 10mm Advocate

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    6,902
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Same here. Size, trim, load. Mixed headstamp. Unless I'm competing for money, nothing gets sorted.
     
  4. Maine1

    Maine1

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Maine
    Thats good to know. i do the same thing with midrange loads in handguns, but rifles are significantly greater pressure. Thanks guys!
     
  5. slims00ls1z28

    slims00ls1z28

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    TN

    Likewise. Mixed nato 7.62 and commercial .308. If I want to load for accuracy (haven't yet but will shortly). I'll start using just the LC brass I have, otherwise it's all mixed.
     
  6. fredj338

    fredj338

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    23,856
    Likes Received:
    2,394
    Location:
    so.cal.
    I use mixed brass for my M1, loaded on a 550B, a progressive is the only way to go for semiauto rifles.
     
  7. Maine1

    Maine1

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Maine
    What about sizing? I hear alot about 'rolling the shoulder back'. I gauge every round i make, and after a standard full lenght resize, the brass gauges fine. Something crossed over from BR shooting, ot am i missing something?

    All the 308 i have loaded so far shoots fine, but i don't want to screw up viable brass.
     
  8. jmorris

    jmorris

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    461
    That is all you need to do.