close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

video driver problem

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Clyde in CO, May 6, 2005.

  1. Clyde in CO

    Clyde in CO LOL WUT?

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Springs
    okey dokey, short background:

    Did my first build this year. had lots of problems. Got everything ironed out, last problem I was having was video crashing to CGA, getting the "ati2dvag display driver has stopped working" error.


    Posted this here, was advised to download newest drivers.

    I did so, downloaded omega drivers. Problem fixed, video runs great.


    However now when the system starts up I get the new hardware found wizard pop up 5 times in a row. If I try to have it find anything, it can't. I've just been hitting cancel, get the 'your new hardware may not work' error and then everything is fine.

    I check the device manager, and it has a bunch of question marks for 'unknown device' I remove them but they reappear on startup.

    The omega drivers are trying to run something I don't have, how can I fix this?

    There is an omega driver support forum. I registered but my acct was never activated, never got an email and the emails I've sent have not been responeded to.

    Thanks for the help.... sorry if I tend to be long winded.

    end of line
     
  2. aspartz

    aspartz

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    3,281
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Sandstone, MN 55072
    It sounds like you have a conflict. If you can, try resetting the Plug'n'Pray in the BIOS settings. You might also try temporarily removing (physically) any other cards from the system and see if that helps.

    ARS
     

  3. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    list full system specs. including OS.
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Download and install Driver Cleaner, but don't run it. Set a Restore Point.

    Reboot, and tap F8 to enter Safe Mode.

    Once there, run Driver Cleaner and sic it on those ATI drivers.

    Use straight Catalysts; you may need older ones than the newest version for your card.

    This will fix it as long as the OS and the hardware are in good shape.
     
  5. Clyde in CO

    Clyde in CO LOL WUT?

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Springs

    Sorry it took so long to respond....


    MB ASUS P4P800-VM
    ATI|AIW RADEON 9700PRO 128M
    CPU P4 3.0
    RAM 1GBDDR CRSR (512MB X2)
    HD 160GB MAXTOR
    CDRW 52x32x52x|SMSUNG TS-H492A/WRDH
    SOUND BLASTER LIVE
    WIN XP PRO



    fastvfr, how do I set up a restore point?
     
  6. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    Get rid of the Omega drivers and run a driver cleaner utility as has been suggested and load up the manufacturers latest version of drivers.

    Make sure you run the driver cleaner software so you don't have any orphaned files from the Omega drivers corrupting the clean driver load.
     
  7. Clyde in CO

    Clyde in CO LOL WUT?

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Springs
    ok, here's an update.


    I've removed the omega drivers, ran the cleaner, and I still have the same problem.

    I'm following the instructions to the letter, but when it the system starts it finds new hardware.

    in the device manager there are five or six "unknown devices" with the little yellow ? by them. just as descrbied in the first post on this thread.

    I don't see how this could be hardware... as this problem didn't start until I messed with the omega drivers.

    ...... really confused now, any more ideas?
     
  8. Kevin108

    Kevin108 THIS IS IN ALL CAPS

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    My suggestion is to stick with an Nvidia-cased card from now on. I've played with computers for over 10 years and had serious problems with every ATI product I've ever tried.
     
  9. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Yep.

    And that goes triple for any planned Linux use!

    ATI's Linux support is nearly nonexistent.

    FWIW, I have always run nVidia cards and have always been happy with them.
     
  10. Clyde in CO

    Clyde in CO LOL WUT?

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Springs
    well I got the problem fixed finally.


    with the new drivers installed it let me try to install the hardware (unsucessfully) but check the "don't try it again" box.


    now if I ever try to do TV out I'll have to mess with it some more.


    thanks for all the replies