"Video* Dad Makes Son A Space Ship!

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by ULVER, Oct 31, 2010.

1. ULVER

ULVER Dixie Rebel

Pretty cool to me :cool:... Just curious though. So you are sitting there at night, doing coffee and paperwork, when this blinking thingy lands in front of you in a tree. First thought? :wow:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXkoIBDXwd8&feature=player_embedded

Next dad and son show up to retrive the "experiment." Any probs, or just a few questions? :supergrin:

2. Hack

Hack Crazy CO Gold Member

What are the state and federal laws concerning this? Other than that it looks kind of neat.

3. MarcDW

MarcDW MDW Guns Millennium Member

As a pilot I don't find this too amusing at all.
    Just think what this thing would have done in my rotor or in the turbine!
    Or if a jet hits that thing at 36.000 feet. This could be catastrophic!

I would have to look up the laws, but there are a few he broke:
    1. He can fly in "Uncontrolled Airspace" his ballon.
    However, it has to be marked and registered!
    Also since he had no control where it would come down, it could have dropped right in an airport like Toronto or any of the airports in NYC!!
    2. Once you hit the 10.000 feet, you have to have a clearance.

While I am sure he did not have any insurance, it wouldn't cover him in the first place and the damages could have been in the tens of millions!
    I hope the FFA catches up with him!

4. Mayhem like Me

Mayhem like Me Semper Paratus

Wow I guess freedom really is not free!
    How does the Governement regulate what they do not own??

SWATBWANA just pawn in game of life.....

Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  5. MarcDW

You are absolutely free to fly as high as you want, but just like driving a vehicle there are certain rules to make it safe for everyone.
    How would you like it, if your wife and children crash in an airliner because of such a "project".

6. Mayhem like Me

7. OmniscientX

OmniscientX