Verizon Tech wanted to remote in to my PC?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Glock!9, Jan 12, 2010.

1. Glock!9

Glock!9

I called Verizon Tech support because my FIOS had disconnected me once every hour for the last 2 days. The tech wanted to remote in an "change" some settings. I asked what settings and he said it was complicated. he said my network was not secured. I told him He does not need to remote in but to tell me where the settings are. he got all annoyed and said he needed to do it because It was too complicated. I explained to him that I am a Sr Sys Admin and I can handle it. I do not normally pull out the title as I do not want to sound like an arrogant *****. He said hold on ill transfer you....I got someone competent...the new guy had no idea i was transfered but thought he was the first person I talked to. He heard the issue and setup for a router to be sent to be over night. I asked him if he saw my network as "unsecured" he said he can see the router settings from his end and that I have security enabled.
    Weird....

2. TuxthePenguin

TuxthePenguin

And that's a lie...

3. Glock!9

Glock!9

Actually thats not true. They have access to the router config. I used to work as an ISP Admin for a smallish ISP.
    EDIT: I appologize I didnt mention this is a wireless router they provided not one I put on the inside of a modem.

Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  4. chris in va

chris in va

Did you get his employee ID? My friend works for Comcast support and he's told me stories of the people they hire...

5. TuxthePenguin

TuxthePenguin

My ISP sure as heck doesn't have access to my router.

6. Glock!9

Glock!9

Nope, he wouldnt gvie me any info just transfered me.

I do not have a choice. They had admin access to the FIOS router/modem.
    I could disable the wireless on it and use another but its a pretty decent little firewall too.

7. Glock20 10mm

Glock20 10mm Use Linux!