close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

USCG Maybe-Possible-Newbie

Discussion in 'US Coast Guard Forum' started by jsx1043, Apr 6, 2007.

1. jsx1043

jsx1043

Hello all Coasties!

I am considering joining the CG through OCS. The down low: I am 27, married with one kid (1.5 years,) and have a Bachelor's Degree. I am currently a police officer and am very interested in the MSST's. I have not had a chance to talk to a recruiter yet, I was just curious if anyone had some insight they would be willing to share.

Thanks

2. bwithoutremorse

bwithoutremorse

27 years old, chance to go to OCS, this is the right path to head down for the CG. As for a MSST, you won't do as much of the LE as you will manage personnel. Any questions you have feel free to ask, I have over 9 years of experience. I will say that at 27 years old and enlisting is very hard, especially if you are a police officer. You'll have to listen to a 20 year old petty officer (can't even drink legally) feel a sense of self-satisfaction telling you to clean a head.

3. jsx1043

jsx1043

I 'll be the Ensign in charge of Head Cleaning Duty if it would help me pay all the bills and get me going in the right direction.

4. TexasFatboy

TexasFatboy

That’s probably truer than you realize...

As a JO at an MSST, you'll be a master at planning meeting's, organizing patrol schedules, planning more meetings, organizing morning PT for the crew, counseling enlisted folks on the appearances of thier uniforms, drafting mishap reports, attending more meetings, approving performance marks and scheduling more meetings.

As an officer (at an MSST) you'll very rarely step foot on a boat or carry a gun. The majority of your work will be administrative in nature. Most of the guys that work patrol are in the E-4/E-6 range.

DO NOT join the CG if an MSST is your soul intention. If you’re lucky enough to be selected for MSST duty, it's only going to last for 3 or 4 years...then it's time to move on.