close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Urban observation?

Discussion in 'Survival/Preparedness Forum' started by emt1581, Jul 15, 2012.

1. emt1581

emt1581 Curious Member

Anyone have any thoughts on making observations during a SHTF?

What I mean is, during a SHTF, does anyone have any thoughts or experience in gaining information by getting to certain locations and watching BG's, the public, emergency responders, etc. in order to help themselves in some way?

During ROL times this might range from being nosey to being a peeping tom. But when things have gone wrong, learning what certain groups are up to might be a life saver from an S&P standpoint...no?

I don't know about the rest of you but I've got zero experience sneaking around and trying to blend in with the landscape. So I can't contribute much. Just curious to see what the rest of yall think about the issue.

Thanks

-Emt1581

2. ArmoryDoc

ArmoryDoc

RECON. Gathering intelligence (information). You don't sneak around. You "blend in" and don't draw attention to yourself.

3. emt1581

emt1581 Curious Member

What about in developments, neighborhoods, remote places, etc.?

If you are walking down the street, dog or no dog, you are noticed here...especially by the nosey elders who are constantly plastered to their windows....no offense to anyone. And that is in GOOD times. In bad times when everyone may be hypersensitive...how do you "blend in" to gain intel.?

-Emt1581

4. ArmoryDoc

ArmoryDoc

There are so many variables. Google "grey man".

5. Batesmotel

Batesmotel

You won't learn that on the internet. Uncle Sam spends millions teaching guys how to do it, A FEW do it well.

You won't learn it on line. Not going to happen.

6. rednoved

rednoved NRA Member

RC helicopters with cameras. Maybe RC trucks, but that can be risky. The ground game is always more dangerous. You have to be careful not to have tire tracks leading back to your basecamp/headquarters.

7. emt1581