Glock Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys,

This came up in the General Glocking section, so thought I would ask here. Is the Underwood 10mm ammo loaded within SAAMI specs? In particular for me, the 180 XTP and FMJ (both show the same velocities). I'm new to 10mm and recently bought a Gen 4 Glock 20 and 29. I went with Underwood for full power 10mm for black bear defense but wasn't trying to find nuclear loads that would damage my guns.

What's the word on Underwood. Some are saying they are having problems running their Glock 20's with it. Mine are running fine so far, but have only shot a couple hundred rounds in each gun so far.

Thanks!

· Registered
3,917 Posts
I don't know if it's within saami specs, but it also shoots just fine out of my glock. it's not showing over pressure signs for me, and i haven't really heard of anyone having issues with it.
I keep a couple different types loaded in different mags and no issues so far.

I know that doesn't actually answer the question, but i still figured i'd say something positive for it. as soon as i get some money for another ammo order need to pick up more of it.

· Micheal D Dokes
269 Posts
Yes Underwood ammunition exceeds saami maximum recommended pressure for the 10mm by a lot. Be careful with it, don't shoot it right away if it's been sitting in a hot car. Underwood also recommends this ammunition only be shot in a firearm with a ramped feed barrel for case support and I'd definitely invest in at least a 21# recoil spring. Honestly I don't think this ammo is very useful because they're using bullets designed for 40 S&W velocity. Check out some of tnoutdoors9 10mm Underwood videos for gel tests that show what happens when 40 cal bullets are driven too hard.

· Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Yes Underwood ammunition exceeds saami maximum recommended pressure for the 10mm by a lot.