close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Two Computers on One Monitor

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by DTQ, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. DTQ

    DTQ c8h10n4o2 me

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    a hidden rebel base, with a fridge.
    I need to connect two computers to one monitor, a PC and a Mac. Is this as simple as a Y cable? If so which one or what is it called?
     
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    hmmmm, Never tried this... I really don't know.

    Are you wanting to allow both pc's to be on the same monitor, at the same time? Or just be able to switch between the two? If you want them both on at the same time, I think that might be close to impossible, switching between the two, is probably doable, but I have no idea how/what hardware it would take.

    IGF
     

  3. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
  5. Nightspell

    Nightspell Avid Nudist

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I've considered buying a product that does just this many times, but... I have 2 monitors and it's currently just easier this way.

    I can't remember what it's called, but I'm sure a tech store can tell you what it's called. It's a little doodad you plug your monitor into, and has 2 video-in ports (from computers), and you only need one mouse and keyboard. You switch between computers by pressing CTRL+Something. Sounds like a good deal.
     
  6. mfackler

    mfackler

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Location:
    Van Wert, Ohio, USA
    If I understand you correctly, what you are looking for is called a KVM (Keyboard,Video,Mouse) switch. If you do a google search or even EBay you should find about a million in all price ranges. I know they work great for 2 PCs not sure about the Mac. I assume it would be similar.



    Mike

    Somethin Like This?
     
  7. DTQ

    DTQ c8h10n4o2 me

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    a hidden rebel base, with a fridge.
    This why I like GT!

    Good shootin boys!

    And thanks much!

    ;Y
     
  8. mitchshrader

    mitchshrader Deceased

    Messages:
    8,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Tulsa
    AND full set of cables for it. dang, i'd not thought of it in a year.

    any way, message me if you are interested. :) 10 foot first class cables, by the way. NOT cheep lowball junk.
     
  9. Nightspell

    Nightspell Avid Nudist

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    That's the one I'm thinking about...
     
  10. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    After looking at this, this seems to be a wiser choice than the product I posted. The one I posted, only hooks up the monitors, so you'd have to have 2 mice, and 2 Keyboards. This one, ports the Keyboard/Mice as well, so you'll only need 1 keyboard and 1 mouse. I wonder why they haven't integrated the Speakers into the KVM yet?

    This would be somethin interestng to try sometime... Maybe I'll build a cheap Linux PC and try ths...

    IGF
     
  11. DTQ

    DTQ c8h10n4o2 me

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    a hidden rebel base, with a fridge.
    I just got off the Apple Discussion Board and a KVM Switch is what I need. KVM switch's commonly come with 2,4 or more ports depending on how many computers one needs to control. Some KVM switches don't work well with wireless or specialized mice. Certain devices work better with hot-key switching than others and some work with PC's only while the USB type work with Mac or PC. Last night I spent hours on the Web reading different sites and that is how I know any of this.


    http://discussions.apple.com/index.jspa?ft=y
     
  12. saber41

    saber41 Guest

    FWIW,

    I'm using a KVM switch very similar to the one in the link.
    Its the PS/2 version from IOGEAR, I got it a BestBuy for approx $25.

    It has been working great...no complaints
     
  13. saber41

    saber41 Guest

    The KVM switch that I have has a speaker jack on it which will support a 2-piece speaker system.
    I am able to switch between 2 PC's using the same Keyboard, Video, Mouse and Speakers.....its great !!

    I just checked the make/model of the KVM that I have.
    Its an IOGEAR model GCS621A.

    I have it connected to two PC's both dual booting Windows and Linux.