close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

TV on a iMac or PC?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by BilltheCat, Jan 19, 2007.

  1. BilltheCat

    BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, Florida
    Wife has PC, you all know I got the iMac. Is their a device to port cable tv onto the computers? seems I saw or read of something somewhere around here.

    Couldnt find it in search however. Thanks
     
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    A TV card.It can be internal PCI card or external USB device.It's basically a TV receiver.Whatever you have to hook up to your TV for your cable TV is what your plug in to the computer's TV card.
     

  3. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim Señor Member CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    Look here. I have the LeadTek at the top. It has some annoying quirks but I like that it's a USB device and all you have to install is software.
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,772
    Likes Received:
    2,101
    Location:
    Indiana
    I use a PCI Hauppage WinTV Go Plus, and I really like it.

    IGF
     
  5. popnfresh

    popnfresh

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    I also have a pci Hauppage, pvr150 I think. It works great, I have my dishnetwork reciever hooked to it.
    If you go through a cable provider you can use the included Titantv software and easily record programs.

    Now that I am with dishnetwork it's more complicated because Titantv doesn't pic up DN.

    Now I have to select the program on the sat. reciever and manually program the capture card to record at that time. I watch the same shows weekly so I only had to do it once.

    I had(still have) a usb capture device. It was $50 more than the Hauppage and when it wasn't locking up my computer, it would capture poor quality video.
     
  6. BilltheCat

    BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, Florida
    none of those look great for an iMac however.
     
  7. chrismartin

    chrismartin

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    http://www.elgato.com
    http://www.miglia.com

    You can get them for a few bucks off if you are in education (student, staff, etc.) from the apple online store.

    I have the El Gato EyeTV Hybrid which will do HDTV on the new Intel Mac's.
    The down side is that if you are using standard cable, you cannot pause or rewind live TV (You can pause/rewind HD though) It has no hardware encoding. It's built to do HDTV, which is already compressed over the air. Picture quality is as good as your cable source. I haven't had a chance to try HDTV yet as it's on my work computer, I have cable, but no antenna for the HD at work.

    If you have no need for over the air HDTV, get the EyeTV 250, it has a hardware MPEG converter, so there is no hit on processor usage when you are watching. This unit will pause/rewind live standard cable.

    Miglia's TVMico has no hardware encoder either, it uses the processor to encode and decode on the fly. It's cheaper, but there will be a processor usage hit when you are watching and recording.
     
  8. popnfresh

    popnfresh

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    UK tv is PAL, American (and Asian I think) tv is NTSC, ATSC(HiDef), Clear Qam(digi cable). Make sure you don't get a PAL only one, it may not be able to decode NTSC.

    I mention this because those sites are from the UK and advertise both types.
     
  9. BilltheCat

    BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, Florida
    I noticed that. but thanks! I also noticed they are expensive!
     
  10. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I don't record TV on my PC.I did buy a cheap TV that sits on a stand next to my PC.I set up a friend's PC to record TV using Linux.I don't want to tie up any of my PC's with TV or it's software and hardware.I usually rather watch TV while relaxing on the couch.
     
  11. BilltheCat

    BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, Florida
    yep. I think you are right. I have a small tv close by now.
     
  12. Deanster

    Deanster Cheese? CLM Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    Messages:
    7,505
    Likes Received:
    2,093