close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Trouble accessing ar15armory.com

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Gmountain, Dec 27, 2005.

  1. Gmountain

    Gmountain

    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    Weird huh? I can't access it from home. I get it at work okay. Any ideas why that may be? I use the same computer at home and at work.
     
  2. The-Fly

    The-Fly The Bofh

    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
    routing problem between your home isp and the website in question.
     

  3. Gmountain

    Gmountain

    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks. Is it something I can fix somehow, or does Earthlink need to loose the troops from the Punjab?
     
  4. thorium

    thorium

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    Salt Lake UT & Orange County CA
    It might not be a routing problem, but if it is this will help diagnose it. I think it might be a DNS (domain name server) issue.

    Try the following, and copy and paste the output to a new message.

    1) Start | Run | type in "cmd" | Enter (if a black window doesnt come up try "command" instead)
    2) type in "tracert www.ar15armory.com"

    This traces the route your computer takes hop by hop through the internet to get to the destination from your computer.
     
  5. DJ Niner

    DJ Niner Moderator

    Messages:
    16,761
    Likes Received:
    2,483
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Location:
    North-Central USA
    ;h

    To Tech Talk (best place for this kind of stuff).
     
  6. Gmountain

    Gmountain

    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    Interesting. I saw where it got hung up, 9 hops down the road. What can I do about it, or is that a problem somewhere else that someone else has to fix?
     
  7. thorium

    thorium

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    Salt Lake UT & Orange County CA
    I would contact your ISP and send them those trace results and explain you can never access it at home and its fine at work. Its not something you can fix if its a routing problem in between you and the host.