close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Toolbars (Bing, Google, AVG)

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Green_Manelishi, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. Green_Manelishi

    Green_Manelishi Knicker Knotter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    On the edge but not quite over ...
    How to deactive, etc. those tool bars, under Vista. I don't use them, don't want them. Thanks.

    Oh and uh .... I really don't need the temptation of considering a SSD.
     
  2. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24 Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps

  3. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24 Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    Oh I think the AVG tool bar may be a bit difficult. If so, you can uninstall AVG completely and reinstall AVG using advanced options and/or unchecking the tool bar install during the installation.
     
  4. Green_Manelishi

    Green_Manelishi Knicker Knotter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    On the edge but not quite over ...
    Thanks. I can live with the AVG bar.
     
  5. Drjones

    Drjones

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    After you uninstall those stupid toolbars, download & install Google's Chrome browser.

    I've used IE8 (obviously the latest version) on a wide variety of computers and it sucks so badly it's not even funny. I've had some computers where IE wouldn't even connect to the internet, and Chrome was good to go right out of the box, so to speak.
     
  6. C.Lee

    C.Lee

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    If you are using IE8, click on "view" then "toolbars" and uncheck what you do not want.

    If you don't see the toolbar there, click on "tools" then "manage add ons" then click "toolbars and extensions" click the item you do not want and then click "disable".

    All the toolbars should be in one of these two locations.
     
  7. Slug71

    Slug71

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Oregon - U.S.A
    add/remove in control panel.
     
  8. Ericfi1

    Ericfi1

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    remove all of the toolbars, they're used as spyware by the particular company to make it easier for them to track what you do and where you go.
    Just goto the control panel and add/remove programs and remove all of them, and remove google chrome while you're at it.. why make it easier for them to get the information on you?

    just uninstall it, and run CCleaner and let it do its job.